2019 Schedule of Events for the BHHA and Bishop Hill

 

PDF of the Bishop Hill Map:  MapBH2016

 

Saturday, April 6
A Local R.R. Bridge and a Railsplitter
Dr. Arthur Pitz will be doing a free public presentation about Lincoln’s role in the Effie Afton incident. This program will start at 2 p.m. at the Dairy Building, located at 410 North Erickson Street. It is hosted by the BHHA and sponsored by the Black Hawk College Speakers Bureau.

Saturday, May 11
The History of Baseball
Dr. Bruce Storey will be doing a free public presentation about the History of Baseball. This program will start at 2 p.m. at the Dairy Building, located at 410 North Erickson Street. It is hosted by the BHHA and sponsored by the Black Hawk College Speakers Bureau.

Saturday, June 8
Summer Exhibition Opening at the Steeple Building Museum
Textiles to Tools: Their Impact on 19th Century Bishop Hill

Saturday June 15
How Corn Changed Itself and Then Changed Everything Else
At 2 p.m. at the Dairy Building, there will be a one-hour free public presentation by Cynthia Clampitt about the impact corn has on society. The Dairy Building is located at 410 North Erickson Street. This program is hosted by the BHHA and sponsored by the IHC Road Scholars Speaker Bureau.

Saturday, June 22
Midsommar Music Festival

Saturday, August 24
Bishop Hill Chautauqua
Theme is Exploring Boundaries

Saturday September 28 and Sunday September 29
Jordbruksdagarna

Saturday October 12
The Journey to Mollie’s War: WACS and WWII
At 2 p.m. on Saturday October 12 at the Dairy Building, there will be a free public presentation by Cyndee Schaffer about World War II WACS. The Dairy Building is located at 410 North Erickson Street. This presentation is hosted by the BBHA and sponsored by the Illinois Humanities Road Scholars Speakers Bureau.

Friday November 29, Saturday November 30, Sunday December 1, Saturday December 7, and Sunday December 8
Julmarknad

Friday December 13 and Saturday December 14
Lucia Nights

 

Please call 309 927-3899 or email bhha@mymctc.net to confirm dates and times. Additional events may be added.